View School Directory
View All Division News

Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards 2022

Each year the Alberta School Boards Association selects students for the Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards. These awards recognize exceptional First Nations, Métis and Inuit students nominated by members of their education communities, based on their exemplary leadership, honour, courage, and commitment to their cultures and education paths. In each of the three regions of Alberta (North, Central and South), four students are selected for this award representing Kindergarten to Grade 3, Grades 4 to 6, Grades 7 to 9 and Grades 10-12.

Wild Rose School Division is proud to announce that Malin Snow from Breton Elementary School has been selected as the Central Region award recipient in the Grades 4-6 category. The Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, Salma Lakhani, presented Malin with his award on June 25, 2022 in Edmonton Alberta. See the following ASBA news release for more information.

Wild Rose School Division honourable mention winners included Selena Crier from Breton High School in the Grades 7-9 category, Celina Whitford from Ecole Rocky Elementary in the Grade 4-6 category and Corbin Daychief from HW Pickup School in the Grades 4-6 category.

These four students will be further honoured by the Wild Rose School Division Board of Trustees in September at the start of the 2022-23 school year. 

Wild Rose School Division recognizes and celebrates the unique heritage, diverse cultures, and outstanding contributions of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit peoples within our communities. We are committed to providing opportunities for staff and students to learn about First Nations, Métis and Inuit perspectives and experiences, treaties, agreements, and the history and legacy of residential schools.


Recent Division News